Unlawful discharge of a firearm is sometimes referred to as Arizona’s Shannon’s Law or simply Shannon’s Law. The name “Shannon’s Law” was settled upon after teenager Shannon Smith was struck with a stray bullet. She was in the backyard of her Phoenix home when the incident took place. Unfortunately, Shannon, who was just 14 years old at that time, was fatally struck by the stray bullet.
Learn what is the Arizona Brady List and how it can assist your Phoenix defense attorney in winning your case and ultimately dropping all criminal charges against you.
Arizona criminal speeding tickets are one of the most common traffic violations. You can get a criminal speeding ticket for exceeding 85 miles per hour, or 20 miles over the posted speed limit. There are also criminal speeding tickets possible if you are going more than 35 miles an hour near a school zone.
In Arizona, criminal speeding is a Class 3 misdemeanor that identifies a speeding violation as a criminal infraction under Arizona Revised Statutes 28-701.02.
This article will talk about how to avoid criminal speeding in Arizona and what happens when you do receive a criminal speeding ticket there.
Sex crimes and their consequences differ in every state. There are variances in the definition of the crimes, the reporting standards, and even the statutes of limitation. If you are being accused of a sex crime, however, you should be concerned and made aware of the timeline for the police to charge you.
For criminal defendants, the right to a jury trial is found in the Sixth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. This right and the others enshrined in the Constitution are intended to keep the country from instituting an oppressive government.
Arizona has a similar right to a trial by jury found in Ariz. Const. Art. VI § 17. The right to a jury trial in criminal cases is recognized in felony cases in Arizona.
DUI charges in Arizona can result in harsh penalties when people are convicted, depending on their blood alcohol concentrations at the time of their arrests and their driving records.
Arizona has a seven-year lookback period for DUIs, which means that the state will charge you with a second-offense DUI if you have a prior DUI conviction within the last seven years.
Some people who are charged with DUIs might wonder how other types of traffic violations might affect their DUI penalties.